Press "Enter" to skip to content

What are the 9 abdominal regions of the body?

The nine regions are smaller than the four abdominopelvic quadrants and include the right hypochondriac, right lumbar, right illiac, epigastric, umbilical, hypogastric (or pubic), left hypochondriac, left lumbar, and left illiac divisions. The perineum is sometimes considered to be the tenth division.

Which organ is located in all 4 quadrants of the abdomen?

small intestine

What organ takes up the most space in the abdominal cavity?

At the height of the cavity is the liver, the body’s largest organ.

What is the abdominal cavity bounded by?

The abdominal and pelvic cavities are bounded by the respiratory diaphragm cranially (superiorly), the inferior ribs and bony pelvis laterally, and the pelvic diaphragm caudally (inferiorly) (Figure 4.12E,F).

What is the largest cavity in the body?

abdominopelvic cavity

What are the 4 layers of abdominal muscles?

The anterolateral abdominal wall consists of four main layers (external to internal): skin, superficial fascia, muscles and associated fascia, and parietal peritoneum. In this article, we shall look at the anatomy of the anterolateral abdominal wall – its musculature, surface anatomy and clinical correlations.

What are the two ways to divide the abdominopelvic cavity?

The abdominopelvic cavity is further divided into the abdominal cavity and pelvic cavity, but there is no physical barrier between the two. The abdominal cavity contains digestive organs, the pelvic cavity contains the urinary bladder, internal reproductive organs, and rectum.

Which cavity contains the brain?

cranial cavity

Which quadrant is most of the liver located?

right upper quadrant

Which two regions of the abdomen does the liver occupy?

The Upper Abdomen Region 1 is known as the right hypochondriac region. This area is home to organs such as the liver, gallbladder, right kidney, and small intestine. Region 2 is known as the epigastric region.